• Waffle irons for heart-shaped waffles
    This kind of waffle originated in Germany where it is called ‘Bergischer Waffel’. It is made with a liquid batter and baked soft on the inside and crispy on the outside.
     
    Heart-shaped waffles can be bought in coffee shops, bakeries and the baked goods department of supermarkets.
     
  • Waffle irons for fruit waffles
    This type of waffle with a filling of fruit finds its origin in the East Cantons of Belgium and the regions around Liege and Verviers. These regions are well-known for their ancient and extensive fruit growing traditions.
     
    The filling can be sweet and made of all kinds of fruit or hearty, for instance a combination of cheese and ham.
  • Waffle irons for butter waffles
    This sweet waffle can be baked until crisp or be left slightly tender and is made with fresh cream butter.
     
  • Waffle irons for ice cream cones
    Ice cream cones are made of thin, crisp waffles. Once baked, these waffles are soft and pliable and become hard and crispy after cooling.
     

The company HVD

In 1922 Isidoor Van Damme began the manufacture of waffle irons in Brussels. His son Hubert continued his work and extended the export of these irons to a global scale.

The Brussels waffle and its iron grew slowly known all over the world. The New York World’s Fair in 1964 meant a breakthrough for the Brussels waffle on the American market. Nonetheless, the Americans quickly began to bake a waffle which deviated from the original Brussels or Belgian waffle, this most probably due to the differences in ingredients. These waffles are also called ‘Belgian waffles’, although the ‘Belgian waffle’ in itself does not exist; the term is rather used collectively for different types of waffles from Belgium.

After the States, Japan followed in specializing in the production of waffles, in particular of the Liege waffle. This waffle is typified by its ingredient pearl sugar. The regions around Tienen and Liege represent the cradle of the production of sugar beet in Belgium. Beet sugar is essential for the fabrication of pearl sugar, which is so richly added to the Liege waffle.

Hubert Van Damme has always represented his product worldwide to the fullest and is renowned for his broad knowledge of the art of waffle making. In 2002 his company was bought by Benny Pitteurs, who gained his export experience in the bakery ovens and machine industry. At this moment Hubert Van Damme is enjoying his well-earned retirement and travelling the world.

These recent years HVD has grown through the application of new technologies and methods of production. New markets are being explored through the participation of exhibitions and events in collaboration with Flanders Investment and Trade, Brussels Export and the Walloon Agency for Export.

fr
  • Gaufriers pour gaufres aux fruits
    Ces gaufres fourrées aux fruits sont originaires des Cantons de l’Est et des régions autour de Liège et Verviers. Ces régions sont également connues depuis longtemps pour leurs cultures fruitières.

    Le fourrage peut être sucré, et contenir toute sorte de fruits, ou salé, combinant fromage et jambon.
     
    Plus d'infos
    Gaufriers pour gaufres aux fruits
  • Gaufriers pour cornets de crème glacée
    Les cornets de crème glacée sont constitués de gaufrettes légères et croustillantes. Tendres et souples lorsqu’elles viennent d’être cuites, ces gaufrettes deviennent fermes et croquantes lorsqu’elles refroidissent.
    Plus d'infos
    Gaufriers pour cornets de crème glacée
  • Gaufriers pour gaufres au beurre
    Cette gaufre sucrée peut être cuite croustillante ou légèrement plus tendre, et est préparée avec du beurre frais.
    Plus d'infos
    Gaufriers pour gaufres au beurre
  • Gaufriers pour gaufres en forme de cœur
    Cette gaufre est originaire d’Allemagne, où elle est appelée « Bergischer Waffel ». Elle est fabriquée à partir d’une pâte liquide et possède un cœur tendre enrobé d’une enveloppe croustillante.

    Les gaufres en forme de cœur s’achètent dans les cafés, les boulangeries et au rayon biscuit des grandes surfaces.
    Plus d'infos
    Gaufriers pour gaufres en forme de cœur

L'entreprise HVD

Isidore Van Damme commença en 1922 la production de gaufriers à Bruxelles. Son fils Hubert lui succéda, et développa également les exportations dans le monde entier.
 
Les gaufres de Bruxelles et leurs gaufriers se sont lentement répandus dans le monde entier. L’Exposition universelle de 1964 à New York donna le coup d’envoi de leur diffusion sur le marché américain. Cependant, les Américains ont vite cuit une gaufre qui différait de la gaufre bruxelloise et belge d’origine, et cela principalement à cause de la différence d’ingrédients. Ces gaufres sont aussi appelées « gaufres belges », alors qu’en réalité il n’existe pas de « gaufre belge ». Il s’agit plutôt ici d’un nom générique désignant différentes gaufres belges.

Le Japon a suivi après l’Amérique, et lui aussi s’est spécialisé en gaufres, plus particulièrement en gaufres de Liège. Cette gaufre se caractérise par un de ses ingrédients : le sucre perlé. Les régions autour de Tirlemont et de Liège sont le berceau de la production de betteraves sucrières en Belgique. Cette betterave est essentielle pour la production de sucre perlé, si richement présent dans la gaufre de Liège.

Hubert Van Damme a toujours représenté avec beaucoup de passion son produit dans le monde entier, et il est connu pour ses connaissances approfondies de l’art de la gaufre. Depuis 2002, la société a été reprise par Benny Pitteurs, qui a acquis son expérience en matière d’exportation dans le secteur des fours et des machines pour boulangeries. Hubert Van Damme profite en ce moment d’une retraite bien méritée et voyage autour du monde, ses gaufriers derrière lui.

Ces dernières années, HVD s’est développé grâce à l’application des nouvelles technologies et des nouvelles méthodes de production. De nouveaux marchés sont explorés au travers des participations à des foires commerciales, en collaboration avec Flanders Investment and Trade, Brussel Export et l’Agence wallonne à l’exportation.